The current Personal Property Tax Rate is $4.10 per $100 of assessed value.
Personal property items taxable to individuals include:
- Motor vehicles
- Boat trailers
- Utility trailers
- Mobile homes
Personal property items taxable to a business include:
- Furniture and fixtures
- Machinery and tools
- Other tangible personal property used in the business
Campbell County does not prorate personal property taxes. Residents are assessed for an entire year on personal property owned and having a Campbell County situs on January 1. Personal property acquired after January 1 is not assessed until the following year.
The Personal Property Tax Relief Act of 1998 provides tax relief for vehicles locally registered within the Commonwealth of Virginia. The tax on the first $10,000 of value of personal cars, motorcycles, and pickup or panel trucks under 7,501 pounds is reduced in accordance with the provisions of the Personal Property Tax Relief Act. For qualifying vehicles valued at $1,000 or less, the obligation to pay this tax has been eliminated.
For tax due dates, please click here. Supplemental billings are due within 30 days of the bill date. Personal Property Tax is delinquent the day after the due date. There is a penalty required by the Virginia State Code for late payment of taxes. This penalty is 10% or $10, whichever is greater, but not to exceed the amount of the tax. The penalty is calculated separately for each taxable item. The Treasurer is also required by the Code to collect interest at an annual rate of 10% until payment in full is received.